Eric Himy

Eric Himy - Homage to Debussy

“Eric Himy's big, luscious sonority and splendid ear for tone color suit Debussy's keyboard aesthetic to perfection with marvelous textural control in his effective transcription of the Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune. Poisson d'or, Reflets dans l'eau, and L'isle joyeuse are intriguingly spacious, luxuriant, and soft-grained."
Jed Distler

“Yet another of Himy's homages to composers he's fond of. This miscellany draws largely from the Preludes, but two of the Images along with several other works are included. It also introduces the pianist's own arrangement of the Prélude a L’Après-Midi d'un Faune. Given his luscious big sound, this gorgeous arrangement comes off almost well enough to make one forget about the missing orchestral colors.”
American Record Guide


1. Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune (arr. Himy) 10:33
2. Voiles 4:17
3. Les Collines d'Anacapri 3:11
4. Sérénade interrompue 2:43
5. La fille au cheveux de lin 3:19
6. La Cathédral engloutie 5:40
7. La Puerta del Vino 4:03
8. Bruyères 3:16
9. Les Terrasses des audiences au clair de lune 4:42
10. Ondine 3:40
11. Canope 3:14
12. Feux d'artifice 4:24
13. La soirée dans Grenade 5:37
14. Poisson d'or 4:19
15. Reflets dans l'eau 5:37
16. L'isle joyeuse 6:12
17. Beau soir (arr. Berkowitz) 2:40
Total Duration: 77:44

Recorded May 13-15, 2008 at Saint Lukes Church, McLean, Virginia.
Produced by Elisenda Fábregas.
Engineered by Edward Kelly.
Edited by Mark Willey.
Piano Technician: Nate Taylor.
Music Notes by Eric Himy (French translation A. Himy).
Cover Photo: Bill Hollinger.
Piano: Steingraeber & Söhne made available as a courtesy of Lavonia Hollinger.
© 2008 Centaur Records Inc.